Essence of Celebrity: by Calvin Klein

In perfect Ferg-fashion I urinated all over the deadline by two days and finally only just submitted “Inside Out.” I would like to thank the following people for their valuable input into the molding of an idea that was originally (and still may become) slated to be the follow-up novel to what I’m currently writing:

– Craig Wallwork tackled it first, the brave soul.
– Colin McKay Miller punished it the hardest, in my thankful estimation.
– Nicholas Merlin Karpuk reminded me that I was trying to be too smart for my own good.
– Nik Korpon, I got to your input a little late, but I’m saving it if I decide to revisit in the novel form.
– Chris Deal made good on a promise, and I intend to make him continue upholding it.
– Paul Tremblay really made me think about the words, the ones others overlooked, the ones that mattered to me the most.

You six gentlemen, I owe you all a beer (or beverage of your choice (I’ll even go as far to get you each one, rather than forcing you to share.)). I would like to thank Atticus Ross, Trent Reznor, Jonny Greenwood, Mumford & Sons, Kanye West, and Cage the Elephant for providing the soundtrack in my head while I fumbled with the words.

Meanwhile, the story has been submitted in order for it to be part of an anthology put together by the writers of The Velvet. The anthology itself, Warmed and Bound, is a bonus given to those that help donate toward the creation of a new website for The Velvet. You can help fund my online home, with even as little as a five dollar contribution, HERE. Maybe this is a little silly, but I’m scared. Although the people at The Velvet are good and kind and gentle, they are my peers. The written word is a large part of my life and this is the first piece I’ve submitted in quite some time (Years?). So, with that, I’m nervous. However, now that it is submitted and out of my hands I have the opportunity to work on other projects. I can get back to the novel and write a few reviews here and there. So, with the stomach churning nervous feeling, there is relief, as if I’m watching my first-born go to kindergarten on the first day of school.

Chris, in his critique of the story hit on where this story originated. I was watching the Carl’s Jr. commercial featured in all of its pixelated glory below and just couldn’t figure out how the “lady” in said commercial has come to be a fixture in our homes. She displays an amazingly low sense of intelligence, has no talent to speak of, and truthfully isn’t attractive. She’s a spoiled rich girl that had a sex tape.

And she isn’t the only one. How these people come to be the highlights of our day baffles me, and therefore “Inside Out” was born. Thanks again to everyone involved. I hope those that read it enjoy.

This entry was posted in Stories, Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Essence of Celebrity: by Calvin Klein

  1. Pela Via says:

    And it is an awesome story, I couldn’t look away. Can’t wait to see it in print.

Leave a Reply

