The 30 Day Challenge (You Are Not Your DVD Collection): Day 07

Day 7: Favorite movies: I grew up on movies. My father is a Steven Spielberg fan. He includes his movies in his sermons from time to time, be they E.T. or Schindler’s List. Every time he and I talk, we talk about movies we’ve seen recently. Some of my fondest memories were the tirade of comments and questions walking from the theater to the car in the parking lot. I vividly remember the night after we saw Tim Burton’s Batman in the summer of 1989, just feeling so alive and excited for more. My first job, at the age of fourteen was working at the video store in town, surrounded by so many VHS tapes (it was the major format prior to DVD and Blu-Ray for those of you under 20 for home viewing) for so many years, being able to watch just about every movie ever made, it was too much responsibility for a kid trying to find his way, so easily influenced by the likes of John Hughes, Kevin Smith, Steven Pink, and Cameron Crowe.

I left home with the intention of capturing a degree in Film, and then going on to outdo Michael Bay and Jerry Bruckheimer, to redo the nightmares of Batman Forever and Batman & Robin, and find myself a hot and willing actress. None of that happened, but my love for the film industry hasn’t changed. I’m still rabid for movies, am fascinated by the process they go through to make a movie, and love to complain when something isn’t right, Watchmen I’m looking at you.

Because of my love for High Fidelity, all of my lists come in fives. This particular list has the same consistent top three picks, it is the last two that change from moment to moment from a bank of movies that stay the same.

01. Fight Club
02. The Dark Knight
03. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
04. High Fidelity
05. Contact

Others to fill 04 and 05: Grosse Pointe Blank, Chasing Amy, Dogma, Jerry Maguire, Say Anything, Almost Famous, Orange County, There Will Be Blood, No Country for Old Men, Adaptation, and Step Brothers.

Day 8: A place you’ve traveled to:
I feel a retro-Ferg picture coming on…stay tuned.

Also, while you’re at it, check out the Mourning Goats interview with the very lovely and very talented Wendy Dale: HERE

This entry was posted in Head Mess. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

